Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Monday, 27 November 2017

Wednesday, 22 November 2017

It's surprisingly rare for a buyer to order a completely custom shirt, but here's a Sinosauropteryx fossil. The little dinosaur famous for having preserved colour pigment in the feathers.


The back also has a fern on the shoulder.


Sunday, 19 November 2017

Another Scaleskin, this one's called Gad. Part of a big character profile commission for the Radgers of Asora novel.

Friday, 17 November 2017

Another illustration inspired by a ride, this time the original Vampire at Chessington, something I've been super nostalgic about recently. It's strange how few photos exist. I thought there would be loads of the old bat cars to work from as a reference, but there are so very few. The hands were an absolute nightmare to draw and I'm still not sure about them, but they were a strange iconic feature of the old roller coaster cars, so I felt they needed including. The "Vampires" is drawn from the original logo no longer in use, but isn't an exact replica.


T-shirts and posters and other stuff available from Redbubble, I particularly like this t-shirt variant!

Sunday, 12 November 2017

Work in progress Vampire bat for an upcoming t-shirt design... Stay tuned.

Saturday, 11 November 2017

Finished the Spyro illustration! Figuring out how to do the crystal dragon was the hardest part of this despite being the thing I tackled first - in the end I would draw using the polygon lasso tool in PS and use gradients to fill in section by section and it worked out nicely.


Available on T-shirts and as a sticker pack as well as some other stuff over on my Redbubble, so check that out. :)

 

Friday, 10 November 2017

Working on some Spyro the Dragon fanart, hopefully I'll get it finished tomorrow.


Thursday, 9 November 2017

Time to get started on the next wave of character profile commissions for the Radgers of Asora, this time with the Scaleskin characters. Here's the first of them, Lox - described as a crocodile-like creature with a long prehensile tail.


Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Saturday, 28 October 2017

Here's another t-shirt design inspired by a ride! Terror Tomb was my favourite attraction as a child and whilst the ride remains as the reimagined Tomb Blaster, the finale scene was completely transformed. I remember it so vividly. Available on Redbubble here as t-shirts and other apparel along with posters and stuff.



Monday, 23 October 2017

I was at Alton Towers last weekend thinking how cool it would be to have an illustrated Nemesis t-shirt rather than just a logo. Was hyped enough about the idea to get it finished in a rather busy week after scribbling a layout on a scrap of tissue whilst out! I think I'll have a go at some other attractions, so if anyone has suggestions, drop us an email or comment on the blog! In theory I have some free time coming up in Novemeber I would like to dedicate to personal projects like this one.



Sunday, 22 October 2017

Saturday, 14 October 2017

Friday, 13 October 2017

Wednesday, 11 October 2017

I have a bunch of bleach shirts to do this week, here's two of them! I took this photo specifically to show how unpredictable bleach is. Same brand of shirt, same colour, same bleach solutions, same design, worked on simultaneously. Obviously the freehand nature of the painting means I'm applying inconsistent amounts of bleach, but it's still strange. 

Sunday, 24 September 2017

Christmas is coming...

I know, I know, I'm sorry. It's not even October yet, can we at least get through Halloween first? But when it comes to taking Christmas gift orders of my t-shirts, I can only take so many the closer it gets to December due to the turnaround time and Royal Mail's cut off dates. So, if you're thinking of getting one of my shirts as a gift for someone, there's no such thing as too early!

You can shoot me an email at joeyfells at gmail dot com if you're interested, or place an order through Etsy. If you'd like to look at more examples, check out my portfolio.






Thursday, 21 September 2017

Sunday, 17 September 2017

Friday, 8 September 2017

The last of the Radgers! This is Kukka. This won't be the last of this project as the book author has requested character profiles for the other tribe of lizardy things. Hopefully I've got the time to get started on that soon!

Saturday, 1 July 2017

iPad sketch, started to ink this experimentally with an interesting brush but grew bored I guess.

Thursday, 25 May 2017

One of the first iPad drawings, starting trying to ink it got bored because I hate linework.

Friday, 12 May 2017

I found a cool sketching app on the ipad that had a mirror option.