Tuesday, 27 February 2018

Really like how this turned out. Tried to mix up the painting and harder shadows to convey different textures.


Monday, 26 February 2018

I really don't understand bird anatomy, so after these scribbles I went and bought The Unfeathered Bird by Katrina Van Grouw, which is an outstanding book illustrations which show how birds work from a perspective useful to an artist. Watch this space... I plan to stop sucking at drawing birds soon.


Sunday, 25 February 2018

Over on Instagram I saw a call to draw a dragon for #DragonTeaParty2018 and I couldn't resist! So here's a dragon enjoying some tea. Entirely drawn and painted in Procreate.


Saturday, 24 February 2018

Photo study, old Chinese mountain pass. Quite like this one. I ended up changing a few things.


Friday, 23 February 2018

Photo study of a helmeted lizard from here, painted entirely with the round brush in Procreate. Wanted to push through to finishing a photo study and getting as much as possible from it, starting with a quick form sketch and moving on to really look at colour and texture. 



Tuesday, 20 February 2018

Sketch from photo reference of Busch Garden's Darkastle, that is sadly being removed this year. :(


Monday, 19 February 2018

Procreate sketch from photo reference. Feel like the overall form on this isn't great but the details are. 


Friday, 16 February 2018

This one is much better. Spent a while getting the frame right before I worked into it, paid off. Need to do that more and really understand the form before I detail.


Wednesday, 14 February 2018

Not happy with this at all, but oh well. Trying to do some more studies from references. Totally didn't plan this one out enough before I started detailing.


Tuesday, 13 February 2018

Couple of character sketches, the second one was a sketch commission.



Monday, 12 February 2018

Here's a little fuzzy raptor. I've just noticed the amount the feathers go down the leg differs on each... Ops.


Sunday, 11 February 2018

Saturday, 10 February 2018

Thursday, 8 February 2018

I've had this idea for a turtle/reef themed disk'o coaster for a while, but when I really started to think about it I wasn't so sure if it would be that visually interesting. I just started sketching over some disk'o scale plans and ended up with this Hawaiian beach theme. I think the vehicle would still be a turtle shell.


Wednesday, 7 February 2018

This is was an old, unused drawing for a project. But I liked it. So I reworked it into a kind of 80s aesthetic.



I've put it on shirts over at TeePublic because I really like how it turned out!

Tuesday, 6 February 2018

Leg day! Realised I really struggle with legs after attempting and failing to include a characters legs recently in a scribble. Time to practise!


Monday, 5 February 2018

An owl for Superb Owl Sunday, of course. Procreate sketch on the iPad, I love the ink bleed pen.


Sunday, 4 February 2018

Finished this today after spending most of yesterday working on it. I started with the background on this one because I know from experience that I rush in excited to do the fun bits and the backgrounds end up suffering and the characters not feeling like they belong. It paid off I think.


 

Saturday, 3 February 2018

Just a rock, from a photo I took at Crystal Palace. Again, felt I needed some practise. Trying to get into the habit of daily observation studies, even if they're just quickies like these.


Friday, 2 February 2018

Some trees from observation, just references photos on Google search for trees. Felt I needed some practise for theming work.


Thursday, 1 February 2018

I felt like I should experiment and practise with the various brush tools in Procreate for the iPad Pro. I'm actually not a huge fan of their smart functionality that aims to recreate real media with tilting, etc. It just feels wrong and hard to manipulate, because you don't have the feedback of a real brush, you can't see the shape of the brush against the page.

But I still wanted to practise, so here's a speedpaint of a tiger from late last night, drawn from photo reference using the oil paint brush.